HASTAC Announces Speakers for 2014 Conference

HASTAC Announces Speakers for 2014 Conference

HASTAC 2014 Logo

The Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory (HASTAC) has officially announced the keynote speakers for its 2014 annual conference, Hemispheric Pathways: Critical Makers in International Networks, to be held at the Ministry of Culture of Peru, in Lima, on April 24-27, 2014:

The HASTAC Conference is an event organized in collaboration with the Organization of American States (OAS), the University of Illinois, RedClara and the Advanced Research and Technology Collaboratory for the Americas (OAS-ARTCA).

This is the sixth edition of the Conference and the first time it is taking place in Latin America. The theme of this year’s Conference is “Hemispheric Pathways: Critical Makers in International Networks,” to reflect the importance of cross-cutting initiatives and collaboration throughout the Americas for economic and social empowerment. The three-day event includes activities such as round tables, panels, short presentations, educational online gaming and creative and cultural performances, all of which will provide opportunities for exchanges and networking.

Registration to the Conference will open mid-February 2014. For more information, please visit the Conference’s official website: http://hastac2014.org/.

HASTAC is a consortium of humanists, artists, social scientists, researchers and technologists who work together to change the way we teach and learn. Every year, the HASTAC Conference brings together as many as 500 scholars from all over the world to share ideas and spark new interdisciplinary collaborations.

NOTE: You can view this announcement as a PDF (in English or Spanish).

2014 HASTAC Keynote Speakers

V. Sherry Tross

Sherry TrossMs. Tross is Executive Secretary for Integral Development of the Organization of American States in Washington D.C., managing a portfolio of technical assistance and cooperation programs designed to build human and institutional capacity, strengthen competitiveness and spur innovation for sustainable development. Prior to this role, Ms. Tross directed the Summits of the Americas Secretariat, facilitating negotiations and bringing together Heads of State and Government of 34 countries to discuss common policy challenges, set achievement targets and develop plans of action to address development, governance and security concerns in the region. Long a promoter of Inter-American relations, Ms. Tross was honored in 2012 by the Government of Chile with the Order of Bernardo O’Higgins for her work in bridging the gap between the Caribbean and the Americas.


Honorable Alejandro Cruz

Alejandro CruzMr. Cruz was appointed Minister of Science, Technology and Telecommunications of Costa Rica in 2011. Among his principal mandates are to coordinate long-term strategies for Costa Rica based upon science, technology, and innovation. Prior to his appointment, he served as President of the Costa Rica Institute of Technology, a prestigious public university that specializes in science and engineering. Mr. Cruz also co-founded the Central American Accreditation of Higher Education (CCA) where he serves as vice president, and he is also Vice Chair of the Inter-American Committee on Science and Technology (COMCYT).


Mitchell Baker

Mitchell BakerAs the leader of the Mozilla Project, Mitchell Baker is responsible for organizing and motivating a massive, worldwide, collective of employees and volunteers who are breathing new life into the Internet with the Firefox Web browser, Firefox OS and other Mozilla products. She has been the general manager of the Mozilla project since 1999, guides the overall scope and direction of Mozilla’s mission. Ms. Baker was listed among the Top 100 Scientists and Thinkers by the TIME Magazine in 2005, and was inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame by the Internet Society in 2012.


Connie Yowell

Connie YowellDr. Constance Yowell is Education Director of the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation where she currently oversees an $85 million program on Digital Media and Learning, which is exploring the impact of digital media on young people and the future of learning. Previously, she served as Associate Professor at the University of Illinois where she examined the complex interplay among young people’s emerging identity, their social context and achievement. Dr. Yowell also served as a policy analyst in the U.S. Department of Education, where she received the Distinguished Fellows Award from the William T. Grant Foundation for her work on making the Web 2.0 more compatible teachers’ practices. 

No comments