Blog Post

David Gibson on Assessment

David Gibson on Assessment

Listen up, class! David Gibson, a 2009 Digital Media & Learning Competition winner (Global Challenge Award), will be featured as one of three speakers talking about 21st century assessment of digital learning during Gaming and Social Networks as Next Generation Learning Experiences, a one-hour webinar in Adobe Connect on  July 28, 2011 at 1pm EST. (The webinar will be archived.)

I've heard David talk about digital media assessment before, and know enough about his vision with simSchool to know that this will be a very interesting talk, well worth attending live or listening to later.

(Adobe Connect, I'm pulling for you, especially the audio).

David recently won one of Next Generation Learning Challenges Wave I awards for simSchool, a "flight simulator" that helps educators adapt instruction to individual learner needs. We have had the good fortune to have David bring his vast expertise in digital media assessment to several events, including HASTAC's Peer-to-Peer Pedagogy workshop held at Duke University in 2010, as well as the 2011 Digital Media Conference -- I was glad to see that Jennifer Jesu-Anter captured the highly innovative nature of David's work (and mind) in her Stealth Assessment blog post from the conference.

To follow the simSchool project's progress, visit their blog at http://www.simschool.net/.

For information on joining the Gaming and Social Networks as Next Generation Learning Experiences, see instructions below:

Topic: Gaming and Social Networks as Next Generation Learning Experiences
Speakers: David Gibson, SimSchool; Chris Sprague, OpenStudy; and David Gibson, Carnegie Learning
Date: Thursday, July 28, 2011
Time: 1:00 p.m. ET (12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT)

With the rise of multi-player games and social networks in our popular culture, faculty and instructional designers are increasingly turning to these highly interactive and immersive environments to promote learning in new ways. As the debate continues around their potential for deeper learning and engagement, tune in on July 28 to hear how three recent grantees from are leveraging these environments to promote content mastery, collaboration, and critical thinking. In this one-hour webinar, representatives from Carnegie Learning, and simSchool – three pioneers in the field – will share more about their plans for scale and assessment and invite your questions and feedback for their projects as they move forward.

The web seminar is free and open to all, but virtual seats are limited. Attendance is first come, first served. The session will be recorded and archived for later viewing.


Image credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/albertogp123/5843577306/

 
221

No comments