Blog Post

2008-2009 HASTAC Steering Committee

We are delighted to introduce our expanded 2008-2009 HASTAC Steering Committee.  Alongwith the HASTAC Scholars, we are taking this year to expand our networks,reach further afield, find new partners, and make the network of networksever stronger and more interesting. 

We also want to take this moment to extend a very warm thank you to all past steering committee members, early advocates, supporters and fellow travelers!

Our 2008-2009 HASTAC Steering Committee is:

Ruzena Bajcsy, Director Emerita of the Center for InformationTechnology Research in the Interest of Society (CITRIS) at theUniversity of California, Berkeley

Anne Balsamo, Professor, Interactive Media and Gender Studiesand Managing Director, Institute for Multimedia Literacy, University ofSouthern California

Simone Browne, Assistant Professor of Sociology at the University of Texas at Austin

Wendy Hui Kyong Chun, Associate Professor of Modern Culture and Media at Brown University

Allison Clark, Associate Director, Seedbed Initiative for Transdomain Creativity, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Sharon Daniel, Associate Professor of Film & Digital Media at the University of California, Santa Cruz

Cathy N. Davidson, Professor of Interdisciplinary Studies, JohnHope Franklin Humanities Institute, and Ruth F. DeVarney Professor ofEnglish at Duke University

Kevin Franklin, Executive Director, Center for Computing in theHumanities, Arts, and Social Science (CHASS), University of Illinois,Urbana-Champaign

David Theo Goldberg, Director of the University of CaliforniaHumanities Research Institute (UCHRI) and Professor of African-AmericanStudies and of Criminology, Law, and Society at the University ofCalifornia, Irvine

Geraldine Heng, Associate Professor of English and ComparativeLiterature, Director of Medieval Studies, and Perceval Fellow inMedieval Culture at the University of Texas at Austin

Daniel Herwitz, Director and Mary Fair Croushore Professor of Humanities, University of Michigan

Julie Thompson Klein, Professor of Humanities inInterdisciplinary Studies, and Faculty Fellow in the Office of Teaching& Learning and Co-Director of the University Library Digital MediaProject, Wayne State University

Thomas Maccalla, Executive Director, National UniversityCommunity Research Institute (NUCRI) and University Vice President,National University

Tara McPherson, Editor, Vectors, and Associate Professor ofCritical Studies in the School of Cinema-Television at the Universityof Southern California

Nick Montfort, Assistant Professor of Digital Media, Program in Writing & Humanistic Studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tim Murray, Professor of Comparative Literature and English,Director of the Society for the Humanities, Curator of The Rose GoldsenArchive for New Media Art, Cornell University

Mark Olson, Director, New Media and Information Technologies,John Hope Franklin Center for Interdisciplinary and InternationalStudies, Duke University

Joyce Rudinsky, Associate Professor of Communication Studies attheUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (UN-CH), Associate Directorof the Institute for the Arts and Humanities at UN-CH, and DomainScientistfor Digital Arts and Humanities at Renaissance Computing Institute(RENCI).

Douglas Thomas, Associate Professor, Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California

Brendesha Tynes, Assistant Professor of Educational Psychology, Child Development Division, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Kathleen Woodward, Professor of English, Director of the Walter Chapin Simpson Center for the Humanities, University of Washington



No comments